Being the “Favorite”

How does one capture what it feels like to be “the favorite”?

I have been, and am, “the favorite” but I am having trouble putting my thoughts and emotions down on cyber-paper.  I’m going to do my best, because its important to me…not to glory in the fact that I am a favorite, but to remind myself that I did nothing at all to earn such a standing…absolutely nothing.

the color red

hearts

icy snow that clings to every single branch

daisies

These are a few of my favorite things (cue Julie Andrews).  Why?  I have no idea…they just are.  That is how I look at how I became the favorite…I just did.  I was not the first-born grandchild…or niece.  I was not overly cute, with dimples and sparkling eyes.  I’ve never had an animated personality, in fact, I’m very shy and reserved…I like being in the background.

But, despite all that, I was the favorite of my Grandpa and my Uncle Kenny, and my Aunt Jean still introduces me as “my favorite niece”.  I’ve gotta tell you, there is nothing like being someone’s “favorite”!  Just thinking about it makes me happy.  Seriously, I am grinning from ear to ear 🙂

What an amazing thought that I am Jesus’ favorite as well.  When others make me feel unloved, worthless, and lacking, I know that in Him I am whole, complete, totally and perfectly loved…no matter what.  And that, my friend, is truth!

My heart is full and happy, and the grin just won’t go away ❤

Words will never express what this feels like.

 

 

“The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save;

He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love,

He will rejoice over you with singing.”

Zephaniah 3:17

This entry was posted in faith, family, life, loved and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being the “Favorite”

  1. Jan says:

    Read your writing about being the favorite. Enjoyed it very much. Look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

